Saugeen Township, ON

This township [Saugeen] is bounded on the north by the township of Amabel; on the east by Arran and Elderslie townships; on the south by Bruce Township; and on the west by Lake Huron. It is well-watered by the Saugeen River and tributaries, which passes entirely through the township from south to north, emptying into the lake at Southampton. The soil is principally a sandy loam. It is traversed by the W.G.&B.R.R., which has its northern terminus at Southampton, with stations also at Turners and Port Elgin. The area of the township is 36,327 acres, and the population, exclusive of Port Elgin and Southampton, is 1,815. There are five post offices in the township, viz: Aberdour, Dunblane, North Bruce, Port Elgin, and Southampton. First published in the “Bruce County Gazeteer and Business Directory for 1880-81” published by William W. Evans.

Cenotaphs & Cemeteries


For more information about this site contact us or visit us online at Bruce County Museum & Cultural Centre.

© 2015 Bruce County Museum & Cultural Centre. Ownership of the images on this site belongs to the BCM&CC or individuals as identified.